Bravery Medal


The coloured bands on the Medal ribbon symbolically represent:

Red = Blood Plasma.
White = Dressings
Black = Nighttime service.
Green = International Medical Colour.
Pale Blue = Daytime service.

The ‘Ambulance Service Institute Bravery Medal was conceived by Mr Arthur Ferris and established by him at his own expense during his year as President of the Institute in 1984/85. It is not subject to any competition and can be awarded and presented at any time.

The first recipient of this distinctive emblem of courage was Mr Desmond Foster, of the Greater Manchester Ambulance Service and it was presented to him in the House of Lords by Lord Skelmersdale on Thursday 1st October 1987. Mr Foster was awarded the medal for extricating a teenager from the top of a train, very close to live electric wires.

The ASI Bravery Medal is the only ‘Bravery Medal’ specifically for Ambulance personnel, be
they full-time or part-time, on or off duty, and is only presented for acts of extreme heroism which are considered to be above and beyond the accepted and expected call of duty to the general public as an Ambulance Service employee, .

The A.S.I. Bravery Medal can also be presented to a NHS ‘Ambulance Service’ for dealing with extended or multiple Incidents involving many individual acts of extreme Heroism by the staff. On the 11th December 2000, the “Northern Ireland Ambulance Service” became the first ‘Ambulance Service’ to be presented with this distinctive medal. The presentation took place in the Long Room at Stormont Castle, Belfast, and the ‘Northern Ireland Assembly’ was suspended to enable the MPs to attend.

With the recent introduction of the Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal for Distiguished Service, ASI is consulting with the Honours and Awards Committee to see if the Bravery Medal should continue or be superseded by QAM. The QAM will recognise individuals working in the ambulance service for distinguished/meritorious service. This means service, which is characterised by exceptional devotion to duty, including service marked by outstanding ability, merit and exemplary conduct. Acts of bravery are not specifically mentioned, so there may still be scope for the ASI Bravery Medal to remain.